Hola España.

22 Nov

DSC_3001

As part of my trip I was lucky enough to spend one week in Spain speaking spanish all day and eating delicious food. I first went to Madrid where I stayed with a couple of friends for three days and got to see most of what the city has to offer. Call me negative but I have to admit that I was quite disappointed, Madrid didn’t live up to my high expectations. That’s the thing about expectations, the less expectations you have, the better everything will seem. I felt like I was in Mexico City and it only has like four attractions apart from the food and the nightlife, those are amazing.

My hometown in Mexico has a lot of Spanish influence and people so I know my paella and my tortilla española. I A-DORE spanish food and there’s no better place to eat in than in the capital of Spain. The night life is also really cool, there are some places which are quite unbelievable like Kapital which is an eight story club in an old theatre, each floor has different music, there’s a show, and a lot of cute spanish guys.

DSC_2888 DSC_2904 Mercado de San MiguelDSC_2914 DSC_2935  Puerta de Alcalá

After my stay in Madrid I went to Barcelona for another four days. I only have one word to describe Barcelona; AMAZING. The city has so much flavor to it;  the architecture, style, art, and vibe are really nice and welcoming. Gaudi’s work doesn’t disappoint either and you can see his influence across all of Barcelona, everything has a modernist twist to it and La Sagrada Familia is one of the most breath-taking works of architecture I have ever seen. The clubs and nightlife are also pretty cool, I went out to Opium which is a club in the beach and I had an extremely fun night and ended up going to sleep at 8:30 am. The shopping, the food, the spanish gelatos, and the spanish guys also make Barcelona an extremely cool youthful city. Except for the Catalan, that language is horrible.

   DSC_3025

DSC_3032

Gaudi’s Casa Batllo

DSC_3043

Gaudi’s Casa Mila

DSC_3052 DSC_3063

Gaudi’s Park Güell

DSC_3072

DSC_3092

Gaudi’s Sagrada Familia

One Response to “Hola España.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Barcelona: Casa Batlló- La Pedrera | Youth In Advancement 18+ - November 24, 2013

    […] Hola España. (glimpseofj.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

